SPAR 8k road race at Jardin d’Olivet 1st Sept

The first event in the Spar Road Race series took place in warm sunny conditions over an 8km out and back course at Jardin d’Olivet recently.  This course which in the past has seen a few controversial incidents, is undulating with a few stiff climbs.  James Cunnningham however, despite suffering with a virus made virtually all the running powered home to victory in a time of 26 minutes and 25 seconds, shattering Paul Holley’s course record from 2006 by over 20 seconds, and winning the run of the day award.

Tony Banks was the only runner to give Cunningham any sort of challenge.  He maintained his position while Cunningham vanished into the distance, and finished 2nd in 27 minutes and 38 seconds.  Eliott Lincoln ran well, coming third in 28 minutes 59 seconds and seems to be recovered from his ultra- marathon run of a few weeks ago.

Eighth finisher and first lady was Arlene Lewis (31.20).  She’s clearly running back into form and this was a perfect tune-up for the Jersey Marathon in a months time.  The tenth runner home and second lady (31.56) was Andrea Banks, meaning that both husband and wife, Tony and Andrea finished as runners-up in their respective races.

Sarah Corcoran (33.49) was the third lady to finish, showing no ill effects from her recent triathlon.

Divisional winners were a) James Cunningham, b) Arlene Lewis c) Paul Huddlestone and d) Rachel Maher.

Age group winners were (men) James Cunningham, Jon Coote and Dave Woodsford and (women) Claire Malzard, Arlene Lewis and Sarah Corcoran.

The next JSAC event is the SPAR Autumn 10k from Longbeach Car Park, Gorey at 9 a.m. on Sunday 11 September.  The closing date for entries is Wednesday 7 September and there are no entries on the day.


Pos    Name                                Time
1        James Cunningham (A)    26.25
2        Tony Banks (A)              27.38
3        Eliott Lincoln (A)             28.59
4        Jamie Barker (A)             29.03
5        Matt Ebbrell  (A)             29.49
6        Jon Coote (A)                  29.53
7        Sam Firby  (A)               31.04
8        Arlene Lewis  (B)            31.20
9        Errol O’Driscoll  (B)        31.45
10      Andrea Banks  (B)          31.56
11      Dave Woodsford  (B)      32.22
12      Glenn Springate       (B)  32.41
13      Richie Peters         (B)     33.29
14      Kevin Lovatt         (B)    33.31
15      Sarah Corcoran       (B)  33.49
16      Paul Huddlestone   (C)     34.07
17      Claire Malzard      (C)     34.18
18      Claire Dupoy       (C)       35.05
19      Jude Hilton       (- )      35.42
20      Nicola Lockhart  (C)         36.37
21      Maria O’Donnell            36.59
22      Rachel Maher (D) 37.21
23.     David Thomas (-) 37.34
24.     Sue Le Ruez (D). 37.49
25.     Lyndon Farnham (D). 38.40
26.     Paul Alker (D). 38.57
27.     Terrl O’Donoghue. (D) 39.50


Also read